Trevor Sullivan's Tech Room

Minding the gap between administration and development

ATI HDMI Audio / Onkyo TX-SR606

Posted by Trevor Sullivan on 2009/07/30


Hey guys!

I finally fired up my gaming computer, after leaving it unattended for over the better half of a year. I was itching to play some Fallout 3 again, and I just got a new wireless keyboard/mouse set from Logitech, and wanted to try it out! Unfortunately, the last time I hooked up my gaming machine to my home theater setup, I had some issues getting my ATI Radeon 4850 to output LPCM 7.1 audio over HDMI to my Onkyo TX-SR606.

As it turns out, after messing around with my configuration for a while, I had to hook my HDMI cable up to HDMI port #1 on my Onkyo receiver! I have no idea why it fails to operate on the other ports, and I had only tried port #2, but for some reason, port #1 works just fine!

Leave a Reply

 
