Trevor Sullivan's Tech Room

Minding the gap between administration and development

Upgrading Windows 7 Ultimate RC to Enterprise

Posted by Trevor Sullivan on 2009/08/08


I’m currently running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit Build 7100 (the Release Candidate) on my work laptop, which happens to be a very nice Dell Latitude E6400; I looooove the backlit keyboard on this thing! Anyway, it’s been running fabulously for the past several months, but it’s time to upgrade to the Enterprise Edition RTM.

It’s been pretty well documented that upgrading from 32-bit to 64-bit isn’t supported, and vice versa, so in this case, I made sure to download the 64-bit media for Windows 7 Enterprise from MSDN. Once I downloaded the media, I used PowerISO to extract the data to my hard drive. Since upgrading from the RC to RTM isn’t officially supported, I had to edit my cversion.ini to enable the upgrade option in the Win7 setup. Unfortunately, upon running setup, I found out that upgrading from Ultimate to Enterprise is not supported. 😦

Windows 7 Ultimate - Enterprise Upgrade

Windows 7 Ultimate - Enterprise Upgrade

2 Responses to “Upgrading Windows 7 Ultimate RC to Enterprise”

  1. Gustavo said

    Actually, you can upgrade from windows 7 RC Ultimate to Enterprise. see here: http://www.gmtaz.com/index.php/how-to-upgrade-windows-7-rc-ultimate-to-rtm-enterprise/

    Just do exactly what you did to cversion.ini and then do the regedit modifications stated in the link.

    • pcgeek86 said

      Hey! Thanks for the tip!

      I’ll have to give that a try 🙂 I didn’t really want to have to reload everything on my work laptop!

      Cheers,
      Trevor

Leave a Reply

 
