Trevor Sullivan's Tech Room

Minding the gap between administration and development

Deployment Workbench: Windows Imaging Error

Posted by Trevor Sullivan on 2009/10/27


I just installed the Windows AIK for Windows7, and MDT 2010 on my 64-bit Windows 7 Release Candidate system, and attempted to open the Deployment Workbench. It opened just fine, but when I selected the Deployment Shares node in the snap-in, I got this error: “The file C:\Windows\system32\wimgapi.dll(version 6.1.7100.0 (winmain_win7rc.090421-1700)) is older than the installed Windows Automated Installation Kit (version 6.1.7600.16385).  Please remove the C:\Windows\system32\wimgapi.dll file so the proper one is used.

Windows Imaging Error

Windows Imaging Error

I am unable to remove the file, or replace it with the newer AIK one, due to a lock on the file (my guess would be that it’s Windows System File Checker).

Most likely, the solution (or at least it might help) would probably be to upgrade to Windows 7 RTM, but I’ve been putting that off for so long, what’s a couple more weeks? 🙂 I just wanted to document this error / scenario in case anyone else comes across it.

2 Responses to “Deployment Workbench: Windows Imaging Error”

  1. Dave Schwinn said

    I am experiencing the same thing with the exactl same scenario (AIK for Windows 7, MDT 2010 and Windows 7 RC). I reached the same conclusion that I need to upgrade to the RTM of Windows 7 but I am right with you about putting it off.

    • pcgeek86 said

      Thanks for your note, Dave. I’m glad you were able to relate 🙂 I’m just putting it off cuz I will only be at my current employer for another few weeks. If I was going to be here longer term, I’d probably take the time to reload Win7 RTM and install all my software 🙂

      Cheers,
      Trevor

Leave a Reply

 
