Trevor Sullivan's Tech Room

Minding the gap between administration and development

VMware Workstation Error: Acquiring Memory

Posted by Trevor Sullivan on 2011/05/09


I’ve been getting this error message a lot lately – does anyone have any idea what might cause it? I’ve usually got plenty of free memory when I get the message. I think it usually comes up after coming out of sleep and/or hibernate on my Windows 7 host OS.

image

This virtual machine has encountered a problem acquiring the memory needed for it to run. Would you like to suspend the virtual machine to prevent data loss or allow it to continue running?

Here is a screenshot of the memory configuration I’m using. I don’t want a lot of swapping going on, even though I’ve got a SSD – I’ve got 8GB of DDR3 in my laptop (Dell Latitude E6410), so I’d prefer to reserve all the RAM necessary for each VM.

image

Leave a Reply

 
